Back On Track

It’s been a while, so a quick recap is probably long due. I spent most of my summer, amazingly long four months, back at home in Finland and it was wonderful. Not because I could live at home for free (though hey I’m not gonna complain) but also because even though I loved my first year in London a bit of unwinding was very welcome. It was great spending time with my family and not having to hurry anywhere, just being on vacation: no timetables, no exam stress and no annoying voice in the back of my head telling me that I should stop watching Netflix and get back to studying. Long story short: an amazing summer.

img_7153-kopio

So now I’m back in London (and so is the annoying voice in the back of my head if anyone was wondering) and starting my second year at university. Or well I already started it about a month ago, but honestly it doesn’t seem like it has been that long… Which isn’t because our professors would be going easy on us, believe me. It’s been full steam ahead since day one, but then again thanks to that I haven’t had any time to get stressed yet so that’s gotta count for something.

img_1844-kopio
Street view from near the new flat

So many things are brand new this year. I’m no longer living in halls, but in an actual London flat with a few friends, but more on that another time. Also as mentioned, I am now a second year student which totally kicks first years ass because firstly, I know where everything is and where things happen and how stuff works and don’t get lost anymore (almost ever), and secondly, because everyone knows that second years are totally better than first years. I also started to play field hockey, which I kind of suck at but at least I’m trying really hard. I have in addition started informing everyone who calls it just ‘hockey’ that field hockey is not ‘hockey’, ice hockey is REAL hockey and field hockey will forever be on the second place and should be called field hockey so that there is no confusion. So far, no great success. I also think that some people may find this mildly annoying and have considered starting to work on my people skills.

img_1842-kopio

I’mΒ sure that there are more things that are brand new and shiny but none come to mind at this moment, so this should be enough for now. I have made a promise to myself and to my mother to try and write more in here, and try I will. No promises of expected results have been made. But so far so good, and I have to say that second year is turning out to be a really great one. Let’s hope it stays that way!

Leave a Reply

